no longer ill, but ill at ease

I’ve been in a crappy mood lately. I’m tired of being alone, but the thought of trolling the bars or similar is not only distasteful, it gives me a slight case of anxiety.

I miss college, where there was ample opportunity to meet people, hang out, etc., often without spending much money. I don’t want to /be/ in school again, but I’d love a taste of that atmosphere.

Something other than my current life, which is dead boring. Even when I have opportunities to hang out w/ people lately (SCA meeting or event, spinning get-together), I’ve balked. It doesn’t make sense. They’re low-key hang with people, talk about things you like… And something has been holding me back.

I don’t think it’s healthy. At least I’ll have something to bring up at my counselor session. Not that we have trouble coming up with topics, truth be told.

Argh. I feel like I’m talking cliches, or just feeling sorry for myself. I wouldn’t want to read this blog.

I’m posting it anyway. Not because I want responses with empathy, but because it’s being honest. This is what is going on with me right now.

About Bevin

I grew up reading stories of all kinds, but the fantasy genre has long been a favorite. Whether it's knights and sorcerors, Jedis or Browncoats, I love them all. I wanted to find my own secret passage to Narnia, study with the Heralds of Valdemar, or become a member of the elven wolfrider pack. I'm sure it was no surprise to my parents that when I discovered there was a club at my college dedicated to medieval life, I'd join. They likely didn't expect that 15 years later, I am still an active member. I acquired the nickname "Bevin the SnarlingBadger" from a friend in the Society for Creative Anachronism, an international not-for-profit educational organization which focuses on studying aspects of medieval life through first-person, hands-on research and practice. Yes, for some that means strapping on armor & practicing combat. For others it means studying a particular culture and time period, developing a "slice of life" persona. For me it means exploring arts & sciences, dressing up in pretty gowns, hanging out with other people who enjoy doing things the "hard way." Outside of the SCA, I'm passionate about animal rights & pet nutrition (and I'm trying to convince myself to eat healthier too), I love movies, audiobooks, tv (Netflix and Hulu are frequent accompaniment for craft-time), crochet, handspinning... I've also been playing Star Wars: The Old Republic, since I was invited to participate in beta testing. I love the immersive quality of the game, and play primarily to watch the stories develop. So, this is a bit of me. There's more. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to no longer ill, but ill at ease

  1. allison says:

    Hey. I feel ya. It’s not cliched, it sounds a little like loneliness which everyone lives with sometimes. I think it’s good to acknowledge what you’re thinking or what you’re going through. Maybe it will help you find a solution or a way to something better? My advice: try something new! I’m going to cut off all my hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

